气蚀作用

在1940年代和1950年代,发表了许多关于气蚀作用的文献。在此期间,该主题受到了来自泵产品和水轮机制造商的密切关注,从而促进了研发,并由此形成了更高的泵转速和更为安全的操作。今天,气蚀作用对于液体系统的有效运行与优良的泵设计仍起到十分重要的作用。

气蚀作用是在泵内发生的一种现象。被泵送的液体经受局部压降,导致液体部分充满蒸汽。这听起来有点复杂,但其实在气蚀作用中,这与水烧开极为相似。当水沸腾时,气腔(气泡)由此形成。

如您所知,液体是被推入而非“吸入”到泵中。推入到泵中的液体(可用压力)抵消了液体通过泵送而快速流动所形成的低压力。最终,当泵的型腔中的可用压力减少或局部压力较低时,蒸汽开始产生或增加(见图1)。

当液体压力降低到泵送温度下的液体蒸气压时,所有液体都将产生气腔。气腔穿过泵;当到达压力相对较高的区域时,气腔即会破裂。此时,当气腔在泵元件附近破裂时,所产生的冲击波会造成气蚀损伤。在泵内的固定和活动元件均会发生气蚀损伤。例如:齿轮泵的入流口和轮齿的低压面都是气蚀作用产生的部位。同时,当发生下列情况时,整个系统会发生压降:

  • 必须从储存器中提取液体
  • 系统处于高纬度;
  • 储存器与大气压力隔绝,处于真空状态
  • 液体温度相对较高

通过下列四个特点判断气蚀:

  1. 噪声: 气泡突然破裂,形成泵运行噪音
  2. 振动: 在极端情况下,气蚀作用会造成机械震动
  3. 性能: 在发生气蚀作用时,泵的压力-流量特性要逊于正常时的压力-流量特性。
  4. 材料损坏: 破裂气泡产生的瞬间破坏力足以导致泵体或齿轮发生点状腐蚀。气蚀破坏与腐蚀或侵蚀有明显不同

您应采取哪些缓解措施?

可采用许多方式防止气蚀的发生。在大型离心泵或阀门中,允许空气进入到入口,从而为破裂的气泡提供缓冲,同时也降低了气蚀作用形成的噪声和点状腐蚀。

在柱塞泵入口附近安装一个储压器(在压力下保存流体能量的机械装置),可以减少有效吸入管长度、增加入口处压力并吸收过剩能量(见图2)。

通过改变泵送元件材料的硬度或增加保护涂层,可以减少点状腐蚀的影响。然而,这并非是一劳永逸的解决方案,因为点状腐蚀也会对裂纹、划痕、裂缝或尖角处造成影响。

为了减少来自气蚀作用的不利影响,需要对系统、泵和液体之间的相互作用有所了解。下列技术可被用于减少气蚀作用,但成功与否还需根据具体应用情况决定:

  1. 保持较低的液体流速,并避免在系统管道内发生急转、受限或内径突然变大的情况。
  2. 在泵入口处提供合适的压力,尤其适用于温热液体、粘稠液体、排空系统或当泵送挥发性液体的情况。可通过抬高储存器、降低泵高度、减少入口管道摩擦损失或冷却液体的方式,增加入口压力。
  3. 安装具有较好提升性能的泵

解决气蚀问题较为复杂。对应用齿轮泵的系统进行更改,成本高并且耗时。在工程开始阶段,由用户和泵设计人员组成的设计组应共同设法减少流体系统中的气蚀作用。


经销商

立即查询


报价

立即查询


产品

立即查询

Micropump产品的制造采用环保工艺,将对环境的影响降至最低,缔造绿色产业创新。

Cavitation

An abundant amount of literature covering the topic of cavitation was published during the 1940s and the 1950s. During this period, the subject received a great deal of attention from both pump and hydraulic turbine manufacturers. This led to an increase in research and development, which resulted in higher pump speeds and safer operation. Today cavitation is still very important to the successful operation of a fluid system and good pump design.

Cavitation is a condition that occurs within a pump. The pumped fluid experiences a local pressure drop, causing portions of the liquid to fill with vapor. This may sound complex, but if you've ever boiled water, you've experienced something very similar to what happens during cavitation. As the water boils, vapor cavities (bubbles) form in the liquid.

As you know, liquid is not “sucked” into a pump, it is pushed. The liquid being pushed into the pump (available pressure) compensates for the low pressure created by the rapid movement of fluid by the pumping parts. Consequently, when the available pressure is reduced or the local pressure in the pump cavity is low, vapor formation occurs or increases (see Fig. 1).

All fluids form vapor cavities when the pressure on the liquid is reduced to the liquid's vapor pressure at the pumping temperature. These vapor-filled cavities travel through the pump; when the cavities reach regions of relatively high pressure, they collapse. Cavitation damage is caused by the shock waves created when the vapor cavities collapse near the elements in the pump. Cavitation occurs along stationary and moving elements in a pump. For example, the inlet flow hole in a gear pump and the low-pressure side of a gear tooth are places where cavitation could occur. An entire system experiences a drop in available pressure when:

  • the fluid must be lifted from a reservoir
  • the system is located at a high altitude
  • the reservoir is sealed from atmospheric pressure and is under vacuum
  • the fluid temperature is relatively high

Cavitation can be identified by four characteristics:

  1. Noise. A sudden collapse of vapor bubbles creates noisy pump operation.
  2. Vibration. In severe cases, cavitation causes mechanical shaking.
  3. Performance. The pressure-flow characteristics of the pump become less than normal during cavitation.
  4. Material failure. The sudden destructive forces of the collapsing bubbles are powerful enough to cause pitting on the pump body or gear. Cavitation pitting has a distinctly different appearance than corrosion or erosion.

How Do You Spell Relief?

Many methods have been used to combat cavitation. In large centrifugal pumps or valves, admitting air into the inlet provides a cushion for the collapsing bubbles and also reduces the noise and pitting caused by cavitation.

Installing an accumulator (a mechanical device that stores the energy of fluid under pressure) close to the inlet port of a piston pump will reduce the effective inlet tubing length, pressurize the inlet, and absorb excess energy (see Fig. 2).

Pitting can be reduced by changing the hardness of the pumping element material or by applying a protective coating; however, these are not long-term solutions to the problem because pitting will attack areas with nicks, scratches, flaws, or sharp corners.

To reduce the undesirable characteristics of cavitation requires an understanding of the interrelationships of system, pump, and liquid. The following techniques have been used to reduce cavitation, but success is dependent upon the application:

  1. Keep the speed of the fluid low and eliminate abrupt turns, restrictions, or sudden expansions in the system plumbing.
  2. Provide adequate pressure to the inlet of the pump, especially in applications with warm or hot liquids, thick viscous fluids, evacuated systems, or when the pumped liquid is volatile. Inlet pressures can be increased by raising the reservoir, lowering the pump, reducing the friction losses of the inlet tubing, or cooling the liquid.
  3. Install a pump with better lifting capabilities.

Solutions to cavitation problems are not simple. System changes in gear pump applications can be expensive, time consuming, or both. In the early stages of a project, the design team, consisting of the user and the pump designer, must combine their knowledge to reduce the likelihood of cavitation within a fluid system.

Find a
Distributor

Find Now

Get a
Quote

Get Now

Find a
Product

Find Now

Micropump products are manufactured with minimal environmental impact enabling earth-friendly pumping innovations.