干吸

干吸泵应用常用于将低于泵体的流体提升上来。一般来讲,这对于引灌好流体的正向位移泵不是一个问题。然而,使泵能够自吸,不仅依赖于泵的特性,也与系统设计和操作条件有关。为了对自吸泵应用有更好的了解。让我们对一些泵的基本原理和优秀设计实践进行探讨。

自吸泵自吸下方液位需要提升流体。这意味着泵必须形成足够的负压力(或真空),从而将流体拉升到通往泵的入口管路中。在此,应特别注意的是,Micropump®的产品在高真空流体条件下具有出色的运行性能。然而,当泵内部无流体时,会形成空吸。虽然Micropump的齿轮泵被作为液压泵使用,但归功于其相对较小的内间隙,因而也能够推动空气。

泵能推动的空气量取决于系统设计、泵类型、内间隙量、内间隙的密封程度、运行转速和泵送的流体特性。

在自吸应用中应重点考虑是否绝对必要让泵执行此类功能。优秀的设计实践总是避免让泵出现干吸。最佳的方式是浸没入口处。然而,如果有必要让泵进行干吸,建议将提升高度限制在最小。

在某些情况下,入口处被浸没是不够的。抽空冷凝器或排空储存器可能需要额外的能量,以使流体进入到泵中。一般应将储存器提升10米(30英尺)或以上,并提供充灌泵需要的足够入口压力。

泵的出口状态也会对泵的自吸能力产生影响。如果泵出口堵塞或受到限制,从入口侧吸入的空气只能通过泵的内间隙漏出,在此情况下,会对已形成的真空状况造成影响。

在自吸应用中,需要考虑到的另一个因素是泵的类型。Micropump生产两类正向位移齿轮泵:传统的优化型腔设计泵和“suction shoe”设计泵。一般情况下,首选传统的优化型腔设计,比如:GJ系列。该系列具有较小内间隙的固定型腔,从而具备出色的密封性。

优化型腔设计泵具有三种齿轮材料:PTFE、Ryton和PEEK。与不锈钢相比,PTFE齿轮的热膨胀系数相对较高。这意味着如果泵空转时间过长,齿轮会受热而导致膨胀超出内间隙。一般情况下,泵将产生去耦,并造成齿轮边缘磨损。同时,也会降低泵的容积效率以及自吸性能。

如果不需要PTFE齿轮,可考虑采用Ryton或PEEK齿轮。与PTFE相比,此类材料具有更好的耐磨性。同时,可以空转更长时间而不出现损坏。Micropump建议不要让泵空转。然而,我们曾听说过含有Ryton齿轮的泵因疏忽而被空转了过长时间,随后引灌流体重启后,未发现产品性能有明显影响。

由Micropump生产的第二类正向位移齿轮泵具有专利“Suction Shoe”设计。在此设计中,泵形成的进出口压差对浮动的“Shoe”施加压力,从而对齿轮进行密封。该设计中泵自吸所面临的问题是在泵送空气时,泵形成的进出口压差非常小。同时,齿轮的动态运动趋向于将“Suction Shoe”推开,从而进一步降低了齿轮和“Suction Shoe”的定标性能。目前,具有两类“Suction Shoe”泵:含石墨部件的泵与含Ryton或PEEK的泵。

GA系列泵产品采用碳石墨齿轮(X21、V21和V23)以及“suction shoes”,其具有紧密公差。这类低位移量、高精度泵具有非常小的内间隙,并采用了偏置弹簧,从而在自吸时,可机械性地将“suction shoe”靠在齿轮上。在此情况下,设计中通过这些特性可解决固有的自吸问题。因此,GA系列产品具有十分优良的自吸性能。

另一方面,含T23齿轮组的GB系列、GC系列和GA系列采用Ryton或PEEK齿轮和“suction shoe”,其自吸性能不佳。虽然此类产品的内间隙较小,但齿轮的动态作用使得“suction shoe”无法获得合适密封,并形成压力。在经过短期磨合后,齿轮和“suction shoe”的密封性能均得到了改善。然而,不建议采用这类产品进行持续自吸。

在多数情况下,湿度会改善内间隙的密封性。在发运前,所有Micropump的泵产品均经过测试,从而在其内部会有一些流体残留。然而,如果在启动前能对齿轮进行湿润,则泵的自吸性能会达到显著提升。

在自吸时,运行转速也同样重要。一般来讲,在较高转速下运行的小位移泵,其提升性能要优于较低转速下运行的较大位移泵。然而,这一关系不是线性的。

有几种类型的流体无法被泵和系统提升。这些流体包括挥发性、低粘滞流体或高温下的流体,其在达到泵之前,在入口管路内即会形成蒸气压。对于比重大于水的流体,提升相同的高度,需要更高的真空。同时,具有高粘度的流体需要更高真空以克服入口管路内的粘性阻力。

应当注意的是当泵送挥发性液体时,比如从桶中进行泵送时,流体路径应始终保持接地。因为可能会产生静电放电,从而导致火花或火灾。

最后,选择正确的泵设计和驱动器,以及了解流体的属性和遵照良好设计原则,是实现成功应用自吸泵的保证。在选择泵时,应考虑材料和自吸能力以及运行性能。在设计系统时,应将提升高度降至最低,并且泵的出口不受限制。


经销商

立即查询


报价

立即查询


产品

立即查询

Micropump产品的制造采用环保工艺,将对环境的影响降至最低,缔造绿色产业创新。

Dry Lift

Dry lift pumping applications often require lifting a fluid from below the level of the pump. This is generally not a problem for a positive displacement pump that is primed with fluid. However, getting the pump to self-prime depends not only on the characteristics of the pump, but also on the design of the system and the operating conditions. To understand better the application of a pump required to self-prime, let's discuss some pump fundamentals and good design practices.

Self-priming with a liquid level below the pump requires lifting the fluid. This means that the pump has to develop enough negative pressure (or vacuum) to pull the fluid up the inlet line into the pump. It is important to note that Micropump® products operate very well under high vacuum fluid conditions. However, when a pump is attempting to prime without fluid inside the pump, it is essentially pumping air. Although Micropump gear pumps are intended for use as fluid pumps, they are able to move air because the internal clearances are relatively small.

The amount of air that a pump is able to move depends on the system design, the type of pump, the amount of internal clearance, how well the internal clearances are sealed, the speed of operation, and the characteristics of the fluid to be pumped.

The first thing to consider in a self-priming application is whether or not it is absolutely necessary to make the pump perform this function. It is always good design practice to avoid making the pump dry lift. A flooded inlet is best. However, if it is necessary for the pump to dry lift, it is recommended that the lift elevation be kept to a minimum.

In some cases a flooded inlet is not enough. Pumping out of a condenser or evacuated reservoir may require additional energy to get the fluid into the pump. It may be necessary to raise the reservoir up 10 meters (30 feet), or more, to provide the necessary inlet pressure needed to fill the pump.

The outlet condition of the pump will also affect the ability of the pump to self-prime. If the pump outlet is blocked or restricted, the air being evacuated from the inlet side has nowhere to go except to leak back through the internal clearances of the pump, and the vacuum created will be considerably reduced.

The type of pump is the next consideration in a self-prime application. Micropump manufactures two types of positive displacement gear pumps: a conventional cavity style and a suction shoe design. In general, the conventional cavity style, such as the Series GJ, is preferred. This series has a fixed cavity with small internal clearances, which make its sealing capabilities very good.

There are three gear materials available in the cavity design: PTFE, Ryton and PEEK. PTFE gears have a relatively high coefficient of thermal expansion compared with stainless steel. This means that if the pump is run dry for an extended period, the gears will heat up and try to expand beyond their internal clearances. This will generally decouple the pump and wear the tips of the gears in the process. This will reduce the volumetric efficiency of the pump, as well as its ability to self-prime.

If PTFE gears are not required, consider Ryton or PEEK gears. These materials have better wear characteristics than PTFE and can be run dry for a longer period of time without damage. Micropump recommends that our pumps never be run dry; however, we have heard claims of pumps with Ryton gears accidentally being run dry for extended periods, and then restarted with fluid, showing no significant loss in performance.

The second type of positive displacement gear pump manufactured by Micropump is the “Suction Shoe” design. In this design, the gears are sealed by a floating “shoe” that is pressure loaded by the differential pressure developed by the pump. In addition, there are two types of suction shoe pumps available: one with graphite components and the other with Ryton or PEEK.

The Series GA pumps use carbon graphite gears (X21, V21, and V23) and suction shoes that are machined to very close tolerances. This low displacement, high precision pump has very small internal clearances and uses a bias spring to physically hold the suction shoe against the gears when self-priming. In this case, these features prevail over the inherent self-priming problems in this design. The design gives the Series GA pumps have very good self-priming characteristics.

In most cases, moisture will improve the sealing of the internal clearances. All Micropump pumps are tested before shipment so they will generally have some fluid left inside. However, if it is possible to wet the gears before starting, the self-priming capability of the pump will significantly improve.

Speed of operation is also important in self-priming. In general, a small displacement pump running at a higher speed will lift better than a larger displacement pump at a lower speed. However, this relationship is not proportional.

There are several types of fluid that are difficult to lift regardless of the pump and system. These include volatile, or low-viscosity fluids, or fluids at high temperature, which can reach their vapor pressure in the inlet line before reaching the pump. Fluids with specific gravities higher than water require higher vacuum to lift the same distance. Also, fluids with high viscosities need more vacuum to overcome viscous drag in the inlet line.

It must be noted that when pumping volatile fluids, such as from a barrel, the fluid path should always be grounded. It is possible for static discharge to occur and cause a spark or fire.

In conclusion, applications requiring a pump to self-prime can be successful if the proper pump design and drive are selected, the properties of the fluid are considered, and good design practices are followed. The pump selection should consider materials and self-priming capability, as well as operating performance. The system should be designed so that lift elevation is minimized and the outlet of the pump is not restricted.

Find a
Distributor

Find Now

Get a
Quote

Get Now

Find a
Product

Find Now

Micropump products are manufactured with minimal environmental impact enabling earth-friendly pumping innovations.