齿轮泵的重复性

回退泄漏(滑移)

旋转齿轮泵的一个重要性能特点是泵内部的动态密封。该动态密封允许在保持进口和出口之间明显隔离情况下,泵送部件能够移动。齿轮泵拥有三个动态密封区域:(A)轮齿边缘和型腔壁(型腔盘或“suction shoe”),(B)齿轮啮合及关闭处,(C)齿轮、泵体和端盖的接合面(见图1a)。

当所有部件被装配后,在齿轮旋转的任何部位均存在此类动态密封。然而,即使存在动态密封,也仍存在间隙,以便泵送部件的移动。此类间隙允许流体从泵的高压力出口一侧返回到低压力进口一侧,即:“回退泄漏”(见图2)。通常被称为“滑移”。在泵内的液体回流会导致泵的供流量(流出泵的流体数量)要小于理论流量(在泵实现100%功效情况下,流出泵的流体数量)。滑移是测定泵容积效率的主要因素(图1b)。

泵的效率/重复性

如上所述,我们可以推断出泵的滑移越少,则其运行效率越高(就容积而言)。很明显,泵的效率越高,其重复性或保持特定流量的效率也越高。然而,我们也谈到了齿轮泵具有特定密封区域,其致使少量的滑移发生。因此,在使用齿轮泵时,对滑移量的测定(及调整),至关重要。

现在你会想,“为什么我们不能实施合适的测试,以确定各泵的滑移量,并提供相关信息?”但问题是,齿轮泵中滑移量并非常数。在此,有几个影响因素会造成许多可能性,其均会影响既有泵的滑移量。不过,我们仍能通过某些方法,对此类因素进行探测和修正。首先,让我们观察在泵应用中,导致滑移发生变化的因素。

进出口压差

当进出口压差(进口和出口压力之差)增加时,滑移量增加。一般情况下,流体会寻找阻力最小的方向。最终,进出口压差越高,通过间隙回流的流体也就越多(如前所述),从而导致流量减少。见图3中的说明。当进出口压差增加时,应注意压力曲线图中的流量与压力比例(流量减少)。因此,可以看出,与其它效率更低的泵相比,正向位移泵就有更直的曲线(见图3)。

Micropump的‘suction -shoe’设计齿轮泵被加载压力,这意味着泵出口一侧的压差使得密封单元(suction shoe、齿轮和泵体)贴合更为紧密,从而使得这一类型的齿轮泵在更高的进出口压差下效率更高(滑移较少)。

因此,在应用中,如果泵受到的进出口压差不同,则滑移也会不同。在此,需要做出调整,以确保重复性。

流体特性

1. 粘性/流体剪切力: 粘性更高的流体会减少滑移量,原因很简单,流体越粘稠,则在泵渗漏通道间隙内的通过性也就越差。较多的粘性流体在实际上会对渗漏通道形成密封,并减少滑移量。流体,比如水和油,在条件发生变化时,会保持粘度(切变速率)。此类流体被称为牛顿流体。另一方面,比如像番茄酱这类流体(非牛顿流体)在条件发生变化时,粘度会发生改变。在此,流体切变速率的变化会导致泵的滑移有所不同,从而变得较难判断,并可能会降低泵的重复性。

2. 混合相流体: 泵送混合相(流体/气体)流体会降低泵的重复性。混合相的混合流会采用均匀混合物、分离的气/液流或活塞流等形式存在。如果混合物为单项或分离的,滑移保持一致性,并在一定程度上可以预测,但如果流量为活塞型(泵送型腔内的分离形式的气体和液体脉冲量),滑移值会变高并发生变化。在此条件下,最难获得泵的重复性!

总之,当进出口压差和流体条件发生变化时,滑移也会发生变化。最终,使得泵性能与流量变得无法预测。在此,可通过监控泵的性能,并按要求进行调整,从而采取补救措施。在此,根据最适合您应用的方法,有几种方式可供选择。

设计和制造

设计公差和生产能力在制造高效旋转泵方面一直起着重要作用。Micropump将具有紧密公差的齿轮和型腔材料组合在一起,使得泵具有更小的间隙。最终,可提升泵的效能,而同时将滑移减至最小。

当泵被使用时,泵滑移最终会增加。这是由于与关键密封面积有关的泵部件正常磨损所引起的,见图1说明。

虽然我们部件做到最小公差,但即使是同一种部件,各部件公差仍会略有不同(±公差)。将泵内的所有部件组装在一起,产生不同的装配公差,从而使得泵的每转流量也稍有不同。最终,使得相同转速的两个泵,产生不同的输出(见图4);然而,无论输出如何,其将具有持续性和重复性。同时,可改变泵转速,以实现预期性能。注意右边的假设的例子:2号泵在210转时,会持续输出100cc,而1号泵获得相同的输出时,转速为200转。

流体传感装置(闭环)

流体传感装置是监控泵性能的最佳设备。您可以在流道中安装一个传感装置,从而向泵驱动器发出反馈。随后,可采用电子方式调整驱动器,以增加或减少泵转速。传感装置可检测如下流体特性:流量、传导率、含酸量、粘性、泵送流体的质量流量和流体温度。选择正确的控制系统是保持恒定流量与补偿滑移的重要举措。

外部旁路回路

这是控制过剩流量的简单的机械方法。旁路回路被安装在泵出口下游的系统管路中。该旁路会将总流量中的一小部分流量从出口转移到储存器内(见图5)。在此,可采用控制阀或其它类似装置对转移的流量进行改变。在某些应用中,这是实现恒定输出的有效而又经济的方式。

电机转速

可通过调整电机转速,对齿轮泵的正向位移性能进行控制。在此,可采用电子反馈回路,比如转速表传感器或解码器(开环)保持恒定的电机转速,并提供可预测的流量。如前所述,可使用传感装置发送电子信号,以提高或降低电机转速。直流电机可提供恒定转速,并且调节方便,以补偿磨损。此外,当需要时,可使用配备变速器的交流电机,进行转速控制。

高转速=低滑移比例

关于泵滑移的最后说明:高转速操作按总流量比例,降低滑移量。最终,所选择的泵可在最大转速下输出需要的流量,从而减少滑移及其影响。

流量重复性

对系统、运行条件、流体参数和合适的电机控制进行评估,从而减小和/或补偿滑移时,可以实现流量重复性。


经销商

立即查询


报价

立即查询


产品

立即查询

Micropump产品的制造采用环保工艺,将对环境的影响降至最低,缔造绿色产业创新。

Gear Pump Repeatability

Back Leakage (Slip)

An important aspect of rotary gear pump performance is the dynamic sealing that takes place within the pump. This dynamic sealing allows the pumping parts to move while at the same time maintaining a distinct separation between the inlet and outlet. A gear pump has three such dynamic sealing areas: (A) the tips of the gear teeth and the cavity wall (either cavity plate or suction shoe), (B) where the gears mesh and close, and (C) the mating surfaces of the gears, the pump body, and the end cap (see Fig. 1a).

When all parts are assembled, these dynamic seals will be maintained at any position in the rotation of the gears. However, as with any dynamic seal, there must be clearances for the pumping parts to move. These clearances allow "back leakage" of the fluid from the high-pressure outlet side of the pump back to the low-pressure inlet side (see Fig. 2). Commonly referred to as “slip,” this recycled fluid trapped within the pump causes the pump's total flow rate (what comes out of the pump) to be less than the theoretical flow rate (what would come out of the pump if we could make the perfect, 100% efficient pump). Slip is the main factor in determining a pump's volumetric efficiency (Fig. 1b).

Pump Efficiency/Repeatability

From what we have stated above, we can deduce that the less slip a pump has, the more efficiently it will operate (volumetrically speaking). Obviously, the more efficient a pump is, the better it can repeat or maintain a particular flow rate. However, we also discussed how a gear pump has specific sealing areas that are going to allow a small amount of slip to occur. The key, then, to flow repeatability when using a gear pump is in determining (and making adjustments for) the amount of slip that will occur.

Now you may be thinking, “Why don't we run the appropriate tests, determine the amount of slip per pump, and provide you with the information?” The problem is that slip is not constant in gear pumps. There are several contributing factors that provide numerous possibilities, all of which can change the amount of slip for a given pump. The good news is there are several methods for detecting and compensating for these factors. First let's look at the factors in a pump application that may cause a variance in slip.

Differential Pressure

As differential pressure (difference between inlet and outlet pressure) increases, the amount of slip increases. Typically, fluids seek the path of least resistance; consequently, the higher the differential pressure, the more fluid will be forced back through the clearances (described previously), resulting in decreased flow rate. This is illustrated in Fig. 3. Notice how a pump's flow vs. pressure graph “curves” (flow rate decreases) as the differential pressure increases. This is also why positive displacement pumps have straighter curves than other less efficient pumps (see Fig. 3).

Micropump's suction-shoe-style gear pumps are pressure loaded, meaning differential pressure on the outlet side of the pump forces the sealing elements (suction shoe, gears, pump body) tighter together, making this type of gear pump more efficient (less slip) at higher differential pressures.

Therefore, in applications where the pump is subjected to varying differential pressure, slip may vary, and adjustments may need to be made to ensure repeatability.

Fluid Characteristics

1. Viscosity/Fluid Shear A more viscous fluid will decrease the amount of slip for the simple reason that a thicker fluid is physically less capable of flowing back through the small clearances of the pump leak paths. The more viscous fluid, in effect, seals the leak paths, decreasing the amount of slip. Fluids, like water and oil, maintain viscosity (shear rate) under changing conditions. These fluids are called Newtonian fluids. On the other hand, the viscosity of fluids like catsup (a non-Newtonian fluid) will change under varying conditions. This change in the fluid's shear rate will cause pump slip to vary, to be difficult to predict, and may lower a pump’s ability to repeat.

2. Mixed-phase Fluids Pumping mixed phase (fluid/gas) fluids lowers the repeatability of a pump. Mixed phase mixtures can take the form of homogeneous mixtures, separate liquid/gas flow, or slug flow. If the mixture is homogeneous or separated, slip is consistent and somewhat predictable. But if the flow rate is slug type (separate pulsed volumes of gas and liquid in the pumping cavity), slip values become high and varied. Obtaining a repeatable pump under these conditions is difficult at best!

In summary, when differential pressure and fluid conditions vary, slip will vary, and as a result, pump performance and flow rates become unpredictable. The answer is to compensate for this by monitoring pump performance and making adjustments as required. This can be done in several ways, depending upon the method most appropriate for your application.

Design & Manufacturing

Design tolerances and manufacturing capabilities play an important role in producing efficient rotary pumps consistently. Micropump uses a combination of gear and cavity materials that are manufactured to very close tolerances, producing pumps with smaller clearances. This results in efficient pumps with minimal slip.

Pump slip will eventually increase as a pump is used. This is caused by normal wear of the pump parts involved in the critical sealing areas as shown in Fig. 1.

Though our part tolerances are minimal, each part can be slightly different (± whatever the tolerance is) from a supposed identical part. Add together all the parts in the pump and these variables combine to produce pumps that will have slightly different flow rates per revolution. Consequently, two pumps run at identical speeds may not have identical output (see Fig. 4); however, whatever the output is, it will be consistent and repeatable, and the speed of the pump can be altered to deliver desired performance. Note the hypothetical example at right: pump #2 will deliver 100 cc consistently at 210 revolutions, while pump #1 delivers the same amount at 200 revolutions.

Fluid Sensing Devices (closed loop)

A fluid sensing device is an excellent method for monitoring pump performance. You can install a sensing device in the flow path to send feedback to the pump drive. Adjustments to the drive can then be made electronically to either increase or decrease the pump speed. Sensing devices can detect such fluid characteristics as flow rate, conductivity, acid content, viscosity, flowing mass of the pumped fluid, and fluid temperature. Selecting the proper control system is a vital step toward maintaining consistent flow rates and compensating for slip.

External By-pass Loop

This is a simple, mechanical method for controlling excess flow. The by-pass loop is installed into the system plumbing downstream from the pump outlet. The by-pass diverts a small portion of the total flow from the outlet back to the reservoir (see Fig. 5). The amount of flow diverted can be changed with a control valve or other similar device. For some applications, this is an effective, inexpensive way to attain a constant output.

Motor Speed

A gear pump's performance, being positive displacement, is ideally controlled by adjusting motor speed. Electronic feedback-back loops, such as a tacho generator, or an encoder (open loop), can be used to maintain constant motor speeds and provide predictable flow rates. As mentioned previously, a sensing device can be used to send electronic signals to increase or decrease motor speed. DC motors provide consistent speeds and are easily adjusted to compensate for wear. When practical, AC motors can be used with variable speed inverters to provide speed control.

Higher Speeds = Lower Slip%

A final note on pump slip: high-speed operation lowers the amount of slip as a percentage of total flow rate. Consequently, selecting a pump to deliver the desired flow rate at the highest speed that is still practical will reduce slip and its effects.

Flow Rate Repeatability

Flow rate repeatability can be achieved when the system, operating conditions, fluid parameters, and appropriate motor controls are evaluated to minimize and/or compensate for slip.

Find a
Distributor

Find Now

Get a
Quote

Get Now

Find a
Product

Find Now

Micropump products are manufactured with minimal environmental impact enabling earth-friendly pumping innovations.